A Sunny Saturday in NYC | Being a Tourist

I usually reserve my weekends for doing a whole lot of laying in my bed or on the couch, and doing homework. I never do anything beside that. But after going to school every weekday for 6 hours, I feel like I deserve that time for staying in and avoiding the crazy busy city on Saturdays and Sundays; so I don’t feel too guilty about it.

This past weekend was a bit different though, due to the fact that I was super sick, and felt like if I didn’t go outside and felt the sun on my skin for a couple hours, I would’ve gone bat crazy. So, I dragged my roommate with me around the city, while I finally got to see some attractions I haven’t been to yet in NYC. 

Our first stop was Grand Central Terminal. There, we saw two couples taking their engagement photos, and one bride and groom doing their wedding photoshoot. Aside from that, it was just filled with people who either looked super lost or were taking photos of every inch of the place, just like us. 

Next place we went to was the Flatiron Building, but we took a couple little detours on the way to explore some more. The building itself was a tad underwhelming in my honest opinion. I remember seeing it and asking my roommate “Is that it?” with a very unsatisfied tone. It’s been hyped up so much that I expected a lot more than I should have. It’s just a veeeeeeery narrow building. Eataly was just down the block, and since we’ve both heard great things about it we thought it’d be worth it to check it out next! There was SO much Italian and European food and dishes prepared, as well as little restaurants inside the market, it was quite overwhelming at first. It was absolutely packed and very hard to get around, so we didn’t even bother trying to purchase anything. After we took a couple pictures we went on to our next stop on the list.

The High Line was just as busy as the rest of the city – everyone was definitely taking advantage of the last ‘hot and sunny’ weekend of the year. The whole concept for The High Line is very unique and I’m glad I went, but I’m not sure I would go again if it’s not during the summer when all the flowers have bloomed. 

To see all the photos I took during this lovely and sunny Saturday around NYC, click on “keep reading” below. Here is a preview:

GRAND CENTRAL:

image
image
image
image
image
image
image

FLATIRON BUILDING:

image
image

EATALY:

image
image
image
image

THE HIGH LINE:

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Thank you for reading,

Maria Popa x

Leave a comment